Monday, June 18, 2012

Army shooters dominate the 'Games of the Generals'

SNIPER MATCH. Army Chief Lt Gen. Emmanuel Bautista fires the 7.62mm M24 Sniper Weapon System during the Games of the Generals 'Ultimate Shooting Challenge' held in the AARM Integrated Firing Ranges, Capas, Tarlac on June 16, 2012 (Saturday). Seventy shooters from various armed services participated in the Army's version of the event. (Photo by Pfc Marlon San Esteban)

CAMP O'DONNELL, CAPAS, Tarlac---The Army shooting team composed of senior officers dominated all the events during the 'Games of the Generals' shooting competition held here last Saturday, June 16.

The Army marksmen displayed its superb performance in all of the events by grabbing championship trophies in all events including the categories in Rifle, Pistol and Sniper matches.

Brig Gen. Ricardo Rainier Cruz, a veteran international shooter, topped the Pistol events with 233.024pts. He was trailed by Air Force Brig. Gen. Romeo Poquiz (220.018pts) and EASTMINCOM Chief Lt Gen Jorge Segovia (218.010 pts).

In the Rifle events, 7th Infantry Division Chief Alan Luga showed his excellence in mid-range marksmanship with the M16A2 Rifle (Iron sight category) by grabbing the championship trophy and gold medal with 93 secs.  Two Army men trailed Luga: Lt Gen Roland Detabali (119.09 secs) and Col Gregorio Catapang (119.10 secs).

Detabali also lorded the Scoped Rifle category with 124.52 secs followed by Col Ubando of the Presidential Security Group with 267.45secs. The organizers used the modified IDPA scoring format for the rifle events.

In the Sniper match, 2nd Infantry Division deputy chief Brig Gen Nestor Anonuevo was the run-away winner with 136.07pts. He was followed by Col Henry Sabarre (134pts) and PSG Commander Brig Gen Ramon Mateo Dizon (133pts).

In the Pistol Team category, the Army grabbed the championship trophy followed by PNP shooting team (2nd place) and  PAF shooting team (3rd).

In the Rifle Team category, the Army Team B (BGen Luga, BGen De Leon,Col Catapang, Col Sabarre) took home the championship trophy followed by Army team A (Lt Gen Bautista, Lt Gen Detabali, Lt Gen Segovia, BGen Cruz) and the PSG team (Col Ubando, Cpt Bernarde, Usec Dimaculangan).

The Pistol match was patterned to the Army's Combat Pistol Qualification Course which uses military type silhouette targets to be engaged with 50 rounds from distances of 5m, 10m, 15m, 25m and 50m. The challenging match requires shooters to shoot from standing, kneeling and prone positions under time pressure.

President Benigno S Aquino III, the leader of the PSG shooting team, was among the 37 shooters who qualified as Experts. Twenty two shooters emerged as Sharpshooters while 11 were Marksmen.

Heavy rains that started later in the afternoon did not hamper the matches. Rain-soaked shooters opted to continue the exciting matches which ended at around 5:30pm.


No comments:

Post a Comment